Party! Party! Party!


A couple of Sundays back I had the opportunity to spend sometime with me nieces. It was Betsy’s birthday party, she is six now and quite the comic… Sadly though, I had to work at the police department so my time here ended up being shorter than I had originally hope for.

By the time I got there the party girl was already in full swing as she and her entourage ran through the house outside and back again!

By the time I got there the party girl was already in full swing as she and her entourage ran through the house outside and back again!

Some of the photo’s may be a bit blurred as the action was fast and furious, seems that when you’re the center of attention the demands of the job requires one to be of stout heart as you have places to go and people to see… 😉

001

Action at the gaming table was lively as Air-Hockey was game of the day!

While Betsy and her cousin Kiefer teamed up on the table, Debbie and her boy-friend (in the gray & orange tee-shirt) watched from the side-lines. Eight and she’s ready to date! Actually, they’re already married on mine quest. Kids are definitely growing up fast these days. Though oddly enough this strapping young fellow isn’t named Henry, so I guess he safe (all of her previous crushes involved guys named Henry). The rest of the kids whose names I mostly don’t know, were a combination of school friends and the children of friends of their mom & dad.

With a gaggle of kids outside pressing the swing-set to its limits the rest of them gathered in the basement for the entertainments it provides…

007

From Doll-houses to Video-games the basement playroom has much to offer the discerning player…

011

The TV off, attentions turned to all measure of  joyful distractions!

I mostly hung out up stairs with the other adults except for this exploratory mission to the basement. There has been a lot of conjecturing about what was going on but most of the adults were willing to stay safely upstairs using the study wood floors as a sound buffer from the squeaks, cheers and other raucous sounds emanating from below.  I however having little common sense opted to brave the lower levels in search of interesting things to photograph and to perhaps become mixed up in… 😉

009However, children’s birthdays are just that a time for kids to play and the adults are left to live vicariously through them, if even for a short time. So I contented myself knowing that my nieces (especially the birthday girl) and their friends were having a blast. I stayed downstairs for a short while ever cognoscenti that my time there was short for duty called and I would be spending the bulk of the evening assisting in the efforts to keep people safe from the blending of criminals seeking to cause them harm.

As it was getting close to my time to leave I headed back upstairs to grab a quick bite and a sup before work. Knowing was leaving soon my sister got the food laid out upstairs before I left, and soon the party goers were immersing themselves in the offerings of Italian beef, sausages, and a myriad of salads.

013 016After a modest repast, I gathered up my belongings and headed off to work. It was a slow night, always a good thing in law enforcement, for most people a boring uninteresting day at work can seem tedious, however, for the police slow is viewed with cautious optimism until the end of shift.

The next couple of photos were taken by my sister after I left as the cake was finally brought out…

lilbday2 Lilsbday1Fortunately, a good time was had by all and I had the chance to view the aftermath of the celebration…

017 018The poor “Hello Kitty” cake didn’t stand a chance the hungry celebrants eagerly devoured most of the ring of cupcakes and more than half the sheet and they refueled their sugar laden revelry. This photos were taken the day after when other business brought me back by my sister’s house…

The dog isn't that small the mushrooms are that big!

Fortunately, no giant mushrooms were harmed either by party goers or the telling of their tale. Freya, sadly had to miss the festivities. Though she would have been a welcome guest, bringing her to station wasn’t really an option…

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Life in all it's glorious facets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Party! Party! Party!

  1. ahh. Thanks! I haven’t been to a good party in years. 🙂

  2. Oh cake and cupcakes! I love cakes! Can I have some? 🙂
    Wonderful writing, Marty. Are you the one in a white shirt who also seems to be sporting a new haircut?
    How in heaven’s name did Debbie beat you in the love department?! 🙂

    Thanks for letting us get a glimpse of Freya, too.

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Marj! The guy in the white shirt is my future brother in-law he’s a Chicago Fireman, though I do have a new hair cut. I wasn’t there long enough to get pics with the girls, I’ll probably be taking them out for breakfast again this weekend so if I do I’ll get some then. As for Debbie beating me, well kids are starting way to early these days! 🙂

  3. reocochran says:

    Looks like a great party in full swing! I am so glad you were able to make it to her 6th but sorry that job had to make you miss some of it! Fun stuff and those nieces will always remember you being there, since you are a pleasant and good uncle!!

  4. I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

    Looks like Betsy know’s how to PARTY! My kind of girl!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Jasmine! Yep her parents are going to have their hands full with her when she older… She’s very outgoing and gregarious unlike her sister who is more introspective…

      • I Am Jasmine Kyle says:

        It’s always that way with children isn’t it. Especially if they are close in age.

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

