The Continuing Adventures of Danger and Discovery with Debbie & Betsy


This last weekend I had the chance to take my nieces out for breakfast. I had gotten off of work about 7a.m. I hopped in my car and sped off to Brookfield to pick up the girls and the older of my two sisters (their aunt) whom ultimately I was giving a ride home. She had spent an over-night at the girls house painting their nails and other girly stuff.

When I got there I was greeted by their dog Max and their mom. Max was very happy to see me and though they had been working on his not jumping up on people, he couldn’t contain himself since it had been awhile since I last saw him. So with Max jumping on me I made my way into the house. The gals just putting on their finishing touches before going out for their morning social call. “Betsy didn’t sleep well last night, but knowing she was going out with Uncle Marty, she got right up and ready!” My sister told while they were getting shoes and sweaters on.

FreyaNMax

This is Max during his quiet time, Freya is of course hanging out on the other couch. She’s probably trying to figure out if Max left ant tasty treats behind before his nap..

It’s still warm during the day here in Chicago but the nights have been getting cold and it was still early enough in the day that there was still a bit of a chill in morning air as we piled everyone into the minivan. Going out to eat is a special treat for the girls. Going out for breakfast is even a bigger treat. The restaurant Nick’s Breakfast House was only a short drive from the house and soon we were all piling out and entering the restaurant.

Opening the door released a cornucopia of smells, bacon, sausages, coffee, toasted bread. This place is known for good food though generally not crowded seemed like a great place to take them, they’d been there before and they like it.

003

When you’re a young lady it’s important to sit in just the right spot so you can be seen properly by the people around you…

The seat issues worked out we sat chatting while we waited for the waitress to bring the menus the girls filled me in on their busy social schedule today. After breakfast their girl scout troop was going to tour the local firehouse and meet the fireman. They were very excited about this, they hadn’t been to a firehouse since Didi (their aunt) took them to see Uncle Kevin’s firehouse (Didi’s Fiancée). Uncle Kevin’s firehouse is in Chicago but they were off to visit the Brookfield firehouse where the dads of some of their friends worked.

For breakfast pancakes would carry the day, but not just any pancakes these were silver dollar pancakes Debbie had bacon with hers and Betsy opted for sausages. Didi and Debbie also decided to share an order of hash browns. Didi and I ordered the breakfast specials of 2 eggs, 2 bacon, 2 pancakes. While waiting the conversation turned to their future plans Debbie stated that when she grew up she wanted to be a puffer fish and with that she took a big gulp of air and…

007

She puffed up! Just like a puffer fish… Not to be outdone Betsy immediately chimed in with; “Look at me Uncle Marty! I can do that too!”

008and with a big gulp of air Betsy puffed up too… “But I don’t want to be a puffer fish.” She said; “I want to be a street performer!” “Really?” I asked; “What kind of street performance would you do?” “I’m working on something now, want to see it?” with that she sat down in her seat and…

002“I want to walk around with a spoon on my nose!” She said with a grin! “I know how to put the spoon on my nose but I just haven’t been able to let go of it without it falling off…” She added; “But I can walk around with it while I hold it”

005Amongst other activities and chatting they colored pictures until the food arrived. Sadly though, my time with them was short they had places to be and I had to get myself and Didi home. So we ate out food and joked around a bit but then it was time to go…

011 012Betsy almost had me thinking there was a stranger in the back seat! The van reloaded and it was time to go home. This little adventure wasn’t as grand as our deep woods trek, but it’s always fun spending time with them…

For those of you awaiting the story of the girls, Freya and the giant mushrooms there was a production snag and that story should be available soon!

The dog isn't that small the mushrooms are that big!

The dog isn’t that small the mushrooms are that big!

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Life in all it's glorious facets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Continuing Adventures of Danger and Discovery with Debbie & Betsy

  1. I love your comment about how important it is for ladies to select the correct chair! So cute and true. You are paying attention! Thanks.

  2. Wonderful recount and photos, Marty! Love the spoon on the nose!!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Anita! Yeah I don’t know where she picked that up… 😉 But kids are definitely little sponges soaking all kinds of things form the world around them. Debbie drew a great picture that I missed getting a picture of, she might just be another budding artist… 🙂

  3. You seem to be great with kids and you are adorable around them. I wonder if you had ever thought of becoming a father in your past. Many people enjoy being with children – which frankly admitting, I don’t. I admire the ones who do, though.
    Next time, please let us see again your nieces – with you – in a photo or two.

    • MartyW47 says:

      I will do that, Betsy’s birthday is in a couple of weeks so I’ll be over at their house for the party, I’m sure there will be plenty of time for pictures… Kids and I seem to get along pretty well and I’m not opposed to having some of my own, who knows, with my eccentric life that could still happen… 🙂

      • That’s great! You’re still open to possibilities. Even with something as challenging as parenthood. But wait, I didn’t know you’re leading an eccentric life. You owe us your readers a lot more stories I believe. 🙂
        I’m looking forward to those birthday photos. I love your blog’s new look, especially the header clouds.

        • MartyW47 says:

          Thanks Marj! I try to be open to whatever new experiences life (there are a few that I would definitely would not try) offers. If I am to one day have a family of my own I already have a lot of experience dealing young kids and don’t feel the task would be as daunting as I might have thought years ago. There will be a lot more stories coming of course, I don’t feel like I’ve even come close to saying everything I want or need to say. I’m glad you like the changes, I too am happy with the new style touches I put on the blog, for a long time I was happy with the way it looked but then I did the page two and that really looks sharps with all the photos. I decided to replace the picture of the Mississippi river with the clouds because as a response to all the other changes. A 1.3mp picture of the river taken at 70mph (that’s 112kph) with a 16mp hd photo taken while standing still was pretty much a no brainer… 😉

  4. as sweet as syrup, but twice as nice! Adorable post and picks, Marty. 🙂

  5. Hint…a little syrup on the nose might keep the spoon there a little longer…just sayin’ 8) Adorable girls…You too!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Pam! I think I’ll refrain from the syrup suggestion at least until she a little older. At her age, there’s a whole lot that could go terribly wrong with her having a spoon full of syrup… 😉

  6. reocochran says:

    I loved this heartfelt story with photos included of your adorable and very sweet nieces! They are lucky to have you in their life, you can tell you enjoy them and let them play and be “themselves,” too! Great read today!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Robin! I agree better to let them be themselves and guide them then try to make them who you think they should be. To that end I never have any problems with them when we go out and we always have a lot of fun without a lot of tension… 🙂

  7. I know I should be commenting in the cuteness of the human girls (they are!), but the black doggie! Freya is adorable!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks! Freya is my best buddy and a constant source of joy in my life. When I almost lost her a few months back I was devastated by the possibility that she might not have live a long (for a dog) and happy life…

  8. reocochran says:

    I love your new look! I think it is a great looking blog and you have a fun way to look at life. I enjoy my stops here so much! Take it easy, Marty!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks for your kind words and constant encouragement Robin! I like the way the changes turned out as well. When I switched back and forth between page 1 and page 2 I realized that the original blog was looking a bit awkward, so I thought I’d tweak it a bit since I couldn’t find another theme that suited me. I don’t know if I’m done with making changes but, for now I’m letting stay this way until inspiration strikes again! 😉

  9. Lovely post, Marty. I have to go and try that spoon on the nose trick…

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Michelle! Yeah, that spoon on the nose thing is kinda tricky… It has to be a smooth surface so it will adhere with only a small amount of moisture (usually from breathing on it) for the trick to work… 😉

  10. adinparadise says:

    Max looks just like my sister’s dog. What fun to be with those two girls, and I laughed out loud at the Puffer fish pics. 😀 Your descriptions of the breakfasts have made me very hungry indeed, and I only have turkey salad for lunch. 😦

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

