The Cab Ride


No this story isn’t about me, but with all things I did and the all things I saw and heard about while driving a cab. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was true story! I want to thank Rhonda at 50 Shades of Grey Hair for sharing this… Enjoy!

50 Shades of Gray Hair

 

I arrived at the address and honked the horn. 

After waiting a few minutes I walked to the door and knocked.

‘Just a minute’, answered a frail, elderly voice.

I could hear something being dragged across the floor.

After a long pause, the door opened.

A small woman in her 90’s stood before me.

She was wearing a print dress and a pillbox hat with a veil pinned on it, like somebody out of a 1940’s movie.

By her side was a small nylon suitcase.

The apartment looked as if no one had lived in it for years.

All the furniture was covered with sheets.

There were no clocks on the walls, no knickknacks or utensils on the counters.

In the corner was a cardboard box filled with photos and glassware.

‘Would you carry my bag out to the car?’ she said.

I took the suitcase 

View original post 620 more words

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cab Ride

  1. Great reblog. I was very touched by the story.

    • MartyW47 says:

      I was too, people can have great empathy at times. Having work in the business I could see this actually happening. Cab drivers are an interesting bunch even the most opportunistic of them can show great compassion at times.

      • I agree with you Marty human beings can come up with such acts of goodness sometimes that those acts do make us reflect if we are capable of such a blessing to do good in this world.

  2. reocochran says:

    I always feel you know instinctively how to provide us with great stories, yours or others, too! Thanks!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thank you very much Robin! When I read the above story I could see a Cabbie doing something like that… I fact I know some I believe would. These days most drivers are Independents they lease or own the cab they drive. Most of them have the same sense of pride in the work they do as most other small independent businesspersons (don’t forget women drive cabs too). To that end there is a cab driver subculture much like, police, firemen, accountants, and many other professions have. Just don’t call them chauffeurs, even though that’s what most of their licenses say… 😉

  3. Pingback: Great Moments | On the Homefront

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

