They May be on to Something…


I have spent countless hours in my life explaining to people how screwed up our economy is and why, I’ve written about it on here as well. But I recently encountered a force that may finally bring about the socio-economic changes I’ve so desperately desired to see…

OK, not all the pictures I take are going to end up on the Blog-O-Rama A Go-GoWhy hadn’t I thought of this! It’s simple, straight forward and it has lucky numbers on it! Most importantly who doesn’t take the wisdom of a fortune cookie seriously? All this time I’ve battling in an intellectual war for the soul of this very nation and all the answers to my prayers of finding a delivery form that would make people think about the important issues in life and to perhaps see things for themselves was only an afternoons Dim Sum away…

The message on this tiny slip of paper that sprung forth from its crunchy and tasty shell covers so many bases, the beginning has strong religious overtones without being in your face to any one particular religion and yet the statement concludes brilliantly with an economic point that stimulates the intellect of most ardent atheist. Just when you thought they couldn’t pack anymore… BOFFO! They hit ya with the coup de grace a smattering of Chinese not only the word but the pictographs as well…

That it, I’m going into the fortune cookie business…

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Life in all it's glorious facets, Political Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to They May be on to Something…

  1. Boffo! Excellent little essay!

  2. reocochran says:

    I think one could write a whole series of your own version of fortune cookie sayings… on a blog! Smiling at you and liked this a lot!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Robin! I agree, the folks who write them must have a fun job….

      • reocochran says:

        You are inventive and could have a word for the day from Marty!

        • MartyW47 says:

          Hmmmm, interesting idea Robin! Having just returned from a ridiculously futile shopping venture at the Myopically-Trendy (there’s two words I bet you’d never thought you’d see hyphenated.) big box Kohls. I’d have to say that todays word is; “Really!?!?!” 😉

  3. “All this time I’ve been battling an intellectual war for the soul of this very nation and all the answers to my prayers of finding a delivery form that would make people think about the important issues in life and to perhaps see things for themselves was only an afternoons Dim Sum away…”
    😀 Marty, that’s brilliant!

    I’m glad to see and read more words from you on this blog recently. You certainly have a way with them. The fortune cookie business will be just perfect for you. 🙂

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thank you very much Marj! Writing seems to have an ebb and flow not entirely unlike water, I go through periods where I’m highly motivated to write and times when I’m not (depends a lot on how many hours I’m working…). Of course, taking time to read the great blogs I subscribe to also cuts into that time bit… 🙂

  4. seeker says:

    The kids better win the lottery. smiling.

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

