A New Edition


You may have not noticed but I’ve been adding a lot of photographs recently. It started out as fun for WordPress challenges but it also struck a chord inside me that I had gotten used to the idea of wanting one but never actually going out and acquiring one. A camera that is, when I was young (really young around 12 or 13) I wanted a Pentax Asahia K1000, I was really into photography in those days and had read a lot about the cameras of the day and most 35mm were ridiculously expensive. The Pentax though was fairly reasonable in price and highly regarded as a student’s camera for those just beginning in photography.

The camera I dreamed of in my youth

The camera I dreamed of in my youth. Courtesy of Wikipedia

What I ended up with was a Kodak 110 instamatic…

photo courtesy of Flimphotographyproject.com

photo courtesy of Flimphotographyproject.com

It was a good little camera and I got a lot of good pictures out of it I even added an electronic flash so I didn’t have to keep purchasing the infamous Flip Flashes which allowed twice the number of flashes of the more infamous Magic Cube!  For awhile I contented myself with this little camera and still have it today. However, I always kept that longing of the Pentax or another 35mm camera. But, that’s what it was just a longing. As time went on and other things took precedence in my life and I never got that camera, though every time I’d see someone walking around with a 35mm I’d get that little geez I gotta get on of those thought would pop into my head.

So last week I took the plunge and purchased a digital camera. A Canon Powershot A1400 HD, nothing fancy, but what seemed to be both a good point and shoot as well as having a few higher capabilities like an extended shutter to allow for pictures in very low light as well as settings for extreme distances and extreme close-ups. It doesn’t have the Fun Frames like my camera phone nor does have colored filters though I can set it for black and white photos. It also allows me to take photos in a series and can be used as a camcorder as well.

022

Here’s a sample of what the new camera can do. I took this on the first day with it. Photo by me

So, I decided to add a second page to my blog to allow for more experimentation with photography while allowing me space here to concentrate on my writing. I hope all of you will take the time to check it out, the link is located in the menu bar on top.

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in General Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A New Edition

  1. Looking forward to seeing more photos, Marty 🙂

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Michelle, there should be many more soon. I’ve been carrying the camera around with me and taking photo’s along the way of things I find interesting. so we’ll see what happens! 🙂

  2. reocochran says:

    You know what this post reminds me of? That wonderful song, Kodachrome… you are helping us to picture what you are saying! Smiles sent your way… I liked your Chicago rails photos… Thanks for liking my posts recently, Marty.

    • MartyW47 says:

      Lol! I hear ya Robin! Thanks the rail photo’s take me back to my childhood, I was an avid model railroader back then and still have a fascination with trains. I don’t know if you noticed the last picture in that series is the uncropped version of my banner photo.

  3. reocochran says:

    P.S. Paul Simon wrote the song and sang it in the 70’s! “Kodachrome.”

  4. Marty, how do you like your new camera? I have a Canon Power Shot G9 (about 5 years old now) that I love. I will check out your shots. Hope you are having fun with your new toy!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Anita I absolutely love the A1400, I don’t think I could have been happier even if I bought the camera I originally went there to buy which was the Canon A2400. When I got to Best Buy I had a chance to try each camera and the A1400 HD Felt better while holding it and can be easily operated one handed. The prices were the same but A1400 runs on 2 AA batteries which I felt made it a better choice, I wasn’t sure how much I’d be using it and that can be a problem with rechargeable batteries. The Batteries and SD card are easy to access. It is a little twitchy at maximum zoom which 20x (5x optical, 4x digital) but everything else is fine. The moon pictures on my photo page were taken at 20x and I did have to tweak the final photos… It also has a lot of features that mimic 35mm cameras with extended aperture settings and multi-shots as well as working as a camcorder which I’ve tried a little bit, but haven’t really played with that part of it much at all…

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

