It Always Happens at the Worst Possible Time… pt6


The Tuesday morning call from the vet was even better. The chicken and rice had been mixed with her hospital food and she was eating her Albumin levels were close to normal but still low, one last night would be advised the vet said and I agreed so I got ready to go in to see her. When I got there she must have heard me coming because she was already standing at the gate when I got there.

Image

By Tuesday she was already a dog with an agenda. She was hoping I brought her a dog biscuit with a file in it!

When we got ready to open her kennel she tried a bit of her usual greeting dance. A couple of spins and down she went, but undaunted she got up and tried again by this time the gate was open. “Wow! look at her go!” said the vet. “Yep, she’s a happy dog.” I added. The vet and I talked while I petted her (I was petting Freya not the vet).ย  She and I decided that Freya would be able to go home tomorrow I’d be there at 8 to pick her up.

Upon leaving she was putting on a brave face as she realized, no biscuit, no file, no opposable thumbs to tie her blankets together and escape out the window (it hadn't occurred to her that she was on ground level) So there she sat, not knowing she was one day from freedom.

As I left I could see she was putting on a brave face as she realized, no biscuit, no file, no opposable thumbs to tie her blankets together and escape out the window (it hadn’t occurred to her that she was on ground level) So there she sat, not knowing she was one day from freedom. When she was younger I offered to send her to ESL classes but she just wasn’t interested… Funny how those reckless choices of youth can one day come back to haunt you.

Wednesday morning couldn’t come quick enough as I pulled into the lot at 7:40 am I sat in the cool air-conditioning of the car finishing a cigarette and sipping an iced coffee from Dunkin’ my other sister (Debbie, Betsy the youngest of the three of us helped with chicken and rice) had come with me in case any issues arose with getting Freya home. We waited in an exam until they brought her in. When she and the vet came in through the door there was an explosion of activity as she jumped around greeting me while I tried to pet her and calm her down, the vet laughed; “Look at her go! She’s happy to see you!”ย  With that Freya had held out long enough, she started peeing on the floor the river that came out of her was impressive the vat called for a tech to bring towels. The mess cleaned and the dog ready to go we paused at the desk while they totaled the final bill and awarded Freya…

A Certificate of Bravery for the little dog who had a brush the death days earlier and was now well enough to go home!

A Certificate of Bravery for the little dog who had a brush the death days earlier and was now well enough to go home!

Once home she began gobbling up her food at a prodigious rate almost twice what she normally ate. She was making up for lost time I guess as she ate two full bowls of dry food and eight to twelve ounces of wet everyday for the first five days back home this of course didn’t include snacks and treats which she also polished off with gusto. It was like a I had a new dog all over again…

Here she is! Oh wait, that's her "cousin" Lilly. who has nothing to do with the story except she's a camera hog... ;)

Here she is! Oh wait, that’s not Freya, that’s her “cousin” Lilly. who has nothing to do with the story except she’s a camera hog…

Here’s Freya and Me the day she got sprung from “puppy prison” her words not mine! ๐Ÿ˜‰

There are amasingly few pictures of Freya and me together. I'll have to solve that...

There are amazingly few pictures of Freya and me together. I’ll have to solve that…

This is the end of the story of Freya’s trip to the hospital as she lays sleeping peacefully under the desk while I type this I’m indescribably happy that it isn’t the end of Freya’s story…

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in General Thoughts, Life in all it's glorious facets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It Always Happens at the Worst Possible Time… pt6

  1. So happy to read this, Marty! Yay, Freya!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thank you Anita! It was a stressful time for everyone involved. In past. Freya was always difficult when I had to leave her with people she knew. She was a real trooper when it came to the 5 day stay with people she didn’t…..

  2. hereisandrea says:

    Welcome home Freya ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jennifer S says:

    Hooray! A happy ending!

    Go, Freya! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Jennifer! The I took her in and subsequent days following there was a real chance that there wouldn’t be a happy ending, Pyometra kills a lot of female dogs that contract it.

  4. Your picture captions are hilarious! Opposable thumbs! HAHA! Thanks Marty, and good luck with Freya.

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Mimi! The story was rather dark and gloomy in the beginning so I thought I’d try to lighten things up a bit in the end. Not wanting to end it on too light a note I thought tagging the photos with light hearted humor would allow me to finish the story without detracting from its more serious nature of tale told in the 5 previous parts… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Eagle! Going she is! Well not right now, currently she sleeping, conserving her energy until her whirling dervish nature arises again… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. reocochran says:

    I am feeling happy for Freya to have such a great owner and friend! She is a good companion and glad she is “rallying!”

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Robin! She is definitely on the mend, though the surgery seems to have turned her into a talker. She was generally pretty quiet, but since she’s come home she’ll sit in front of me making all kinds of little dog noises like she’s trying to tell me something beyond our normal conversations of hungry, thirsty. want to go out, need to go out, and look I’m being a good dog! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Another happy canine with another loving owner. So glad she is ok and at home where she will be able to rest and recouperate more quickly. Amazing how when you put them at home how that will cheer them up so much they get well faster sometimes
    Yisraela

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Yisraela! Yes, the healing process and her general recovery seems to have really taken off since she came home… The shakiness she was exhibiting at the hospital has gone away and she’s trotting around like she always does… ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Oh dear Martin, please forgive me for not being able to commiserate sooner with your recent circumstances concerning your beloved pet. I had been engrossed at work and my mundane activities I was not able to spend time checking on my blogger pals lately. My deepest apology. I love dogs very much – all animals in general – so your series about Freya is quite meaningful to me. I’ve had dog pets and I know how it feels to care deeply a cherished pet dog. I’m glad she’s doing better now. I wish both of you so well. I’ll be back in a little while. Thanks for sharing that particular challenging time with us.

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Marj! It was definitely challenging and no apologizes necessary I understand completely! I just got home and have been awake 24.5 out of the last 25 hours between the 2 jobs… Yes she’s definitely cherished, even when she’s being a goof… ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Oops, typo: I know how it feels to care deeply a cherished pet dog. I meant: for a cherished pet dog.
    Freya is one beautiful dog. I love all kinds of them. Even if they aren’t my pet. I don’t know how I got this much compassion for animals considering I was born in a country where people normally feast on “man’s best friend.” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Anyway, I hope to see more photos of you and your beloved pets. Yes, I agree you should do something about that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I will have to research just what was wrong with your sweet puppy, but I am SOOOOO glad all is well, and she is home again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So pleased.

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thanks Karen! She has her stitches out and vet is very happy with her progress! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now if I can just get her to stop wearing tin-foil hats! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

