It Always Happens at the Worst Possible Time… pt2


After my conversation with Vet, I was completely spent for the drive home. I swung into the local Dunkin’ Donuts and got a large iced mocha coffee a couple of croissants and jelly donuts. The coffee hit the spot as I drove back to Hillside. The rapid pace of the drive there and subsequent emotional roller-coaster had taken its toll, not mention by this point I had about 3 hours of sleep over the last 3 days between tending to my sick puppy while maintaining both full-time and part-time jobs. I felt terrible, the sometimes crazy hours I keep might have cost my dog her life. When I got home I stopped for minute and paid the rent, I also had to get a spare key to the studio since I have left mine on the counter during this mornings mad rush.

When I got home I was spent, but not wanting to sleep  until I heard from the vet. I warmed up the croissants and munched on them while I finished the coffee. The studio was quiet, for the second time today I came home without my little goof-ball greeting me with joyous whines and dancing around me while I tried to pet her. This didn’t go unnoticed. I had been texting with my sisters keeping them updated on the events surrounding Freya, but now all that was done too. It was quiet, I like it that way, she likes it that way, but this was too quiet. I was exhausted and need something to preoccupy my time while waiting for the call. I turned on my computer and loaded my blog. I sat there quietly thinking about what to write. I wanted to write something, anything just take my mind off thinking about Freya until the call. I was drawing a blank, I went to the reader hoping to find something humorous to distract me from thinking about space under my desk that Freya usually occupied. Alas, no distractions there. So I got up and started cleaning, ran the garbage out all the while keeping my cell within close reach for that moment when the call would come bringing with it news either good or bad.

After the last of the dishes were done it was about time the vet estimated she’d call. So I switched on the dvd and turned on the TV. Freya and I have a night-time ritual when it’s time for bed I switch on The Adventures of Robin Hood, I have all 143 episodes of the 1956 TV show. It’s simple plots and tongue in cheek humor give me something to focus on while I drift off to sleep. However, now I was focused on the phone and the news that it was about to bring. I lit up a smoke and had a seat at the desk determined to wait it out for the call. I sat mindlessly surfing the Internet with Robin Hood softly playing in the background, when suddenly the phone started ringing.

It was the Vet.

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Life in all it's glorious facets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Always Happens at the Worst Possible Time… pt2

  1. Cliffhanger if ever there was one…i surely hope this has a good ending as the suspense is painful…

  2. Susan says:

    I am really worried that one of the tags is good goodbye 😦 really hoping Freya will recover and come home to you.

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

