COME ON NEIGHBOR, PLEASE WAKE UP!


The continuing and tragic story needs to be told….

İnsanlık Hali

Translated and edited  by Elif Özizmir, Can Jarna Öztürk, Çağlayan Erendağ and Lale İnceoğlu.

Görsel

Good morning Neighbor,

Never mind my “good morning”, I write these lines to you at daybreak, after a sleepless night. You know me, we’ve been living in this building for so many years. I am the quiet type, not many people come to visit me. I go to bed early and wake up even before the morning prayers. Yet, last night I didn’t sleep a wink. You slept soundly instead of me, dear neighbor. I know you did because I was out at the balcony so many times, banging pots and pans as my husband was turning the lights on and off… we tried everything to draw your attention.

You slept on, neighbor.

While we sat with our hands on the door knob, our hearts racing like mad, our eyes sore, you slept on. I am not…

View original post 1,604 more words

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to COME ON NEIGHBOR, PLEASE WAKE UP!

  1. Thanks for posting this Marty. IT is sad and scary to see people treated this way. I believe the tide is turning, but it’s going to take a long long while before compassion and decency is common around the world.

  2. MartyW47 says:

    I agree Mimi. However, I also believe that with the loss of rights here in states and situations we’re experiencing here, that things like what’s happening in Turkey could restart here… Remember Kent State…

  3. sumandef says:

    Thank you Marty for your support!
    Defne

    • MartyW47 says:

      Thank you Sumandef. Tragic as it is people need to know what’s going on there. The Turkish media may be censoring but the world still needs to know. People everywhere need to retake control of their lives and they need to understand that their not alone. Thank you again for your bravery in telling your story and the stories of others there fighting for what they believe in.

  4. reocochran says:

    We need to listen to stories from afar to learn to appreciate what we have and we still need to hold onto! I am so glad that you took the time to feature this story. I was heart-wrenched by this tale of the lack of Turkish rights. I agree, there are those who somehow are back into censorship here in the U.S. and we need to be aware of the “slippery slope” where we could lose some ground in a lot of areas.. .I only hope we don’t have to go back to war to protect more countries or our own rights here… Thanks for this!

    • MartyW47 says:

      Unfortunately Robin it may come to that, for example think about how hard Americans fought to bring in Unions and how easily the republicans broke them. “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” according to George Santayana. Though he may have hit it more on the head when he said; “The world is a perpetual caricature of itself; at every moment it is the mockery and the contradiction of what it is pretending to be.”

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

