George Orwell’s “1984”

Book News: Sales Of Orwell’s ‘1984’ Spike After NSA Revelations : The Two-Way : NPR.

When I saw this on National Public Radio, I had to laugh. It’s good to see that people are finally clueing in on something  that has been going on for years.  Orwell was a visionary and “1984” wasn’t published in Great Britain during World War 2 (neither was “Animal Farm”) Because the British thought in poor taste to publish books critical of themselves and their allies. Probably a smart move at the time. Personally, I’ve been pointing this out to people for years… Double plus good, eh!

About MartyW47

Attending Triton College. Studying Emergency Services Management & Criminal Justice. Currently employed @ MPPD & Aflac. After 30 years out of school I'm back in College and having a Blast!
Link | This entry was posted in General Thoughts, Political Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to George Orwell’s “1984” Sales on the Rise!

  1. Pingback: Finally, Some Good News | I'm Just Asking

  2. MartyW47 says:

    Pingbacks and trackbacks to related sites are always welcome here! 🙂

  3. goethalsart says:

    I enjoyed reading the books of Orwell.At highschool it was a must.And yes…big brother is everywhere, even in our small village.I feel him reading my reply. (LOL)

    • MartyW47 says:

      LOL! I hear ya, I have a copy of 1984 and have read and reread it a few times. The movie isn’t nearly as good as the book but it’s imagery is very compelling and John Hurt doesn’t a phenomenal job portraying Winston. But seriously, Benjamin Franklin once said “Those who surrender rights for security shall not have nor deserve either” I’ve always thought as those as words to live by

Please feel free to reply to anything posted here! I'm always happy for feedback good or bad... Thanks!

